Booktrotting: The List

After having my eyes opened by Wordery’s ‘Around the World in 80 Books’ blog to the narrowly white and Western scope of my reading taste, I’ve decided to go on an around the world reading trip of my own. I’ve gone for forty books from across all six inhabited continents:

Africa:

  1. Algeria – What the Day Owes the Night, Yasmina Khadra
  2. Egypt – The Map of Love, Ahdaf Soueif
  3. Ethiopia – Cutting for Stone, Abraham Verghese
  4. Ghana – Ghana Must Go, Taiye Selasi
  5. Kenya – Wizard of the Crow, Ngugi Wa Thiong’o
  6. Libya In the Country of Men, Hisham Matar
  7. Nigeria – The Fishermen, Chigozie Obioma
  8. Republic of the Congo – Broken Glass, Alain Mabanckou
  9. South Africa Bitter Fruit, Achmat Dangor
  10. Zimbabwe – We Need New Names, NoViolet Bulawayo

The Americas:

  1. Argentina Betrayed by Rita Hayworth, Manuel Puig
  2. Brazil Crow Blue, Adriana Lisboa
  3. Canada – Etta and Otto and Russell and James, Emma Hooper
  4. Colombia The Armies, Evelio Rosero
  5. Dominican Republic – The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Díaz
  6. Jamaica A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James
  7. Mexico  Like Water for Chocolate, Laura Esquivel
  8. USA – Winter’s Bone, David Woodrell

Asia:

  1. Afghanistan – The Bookseller of Kabul, Åsne Seierstad
  2. China – A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, Yiyun Li
  3. India – A Fine Balance, Rohinton Mistry
  4. Japan – Snow Country, Yasunari Kawabata
  5. Malaysia The Gift of Rain, Tan Twang En
  6. Mongolia – Wolf Totem, Jiang Rong
  7. Myanmar – The Glass Palace, Amitav Ghosh
  8. Pakistan – The Reluctant Fundamentalist, Mohsin Hamid
  9. South Korea – Drifting House, Krys Lee
  10. Turkey – The Museum of Innocence, Orhan Pamuk

Europe:

  1. Bulgaria – The Physics of Sorrow, Georgi Gospodinov
  2. Estonia – When the Doves Disappeared, Sofi Oksanen
  3. Germany – Book of Clouds, Chloe Aridjis
  4. Greece – Why I Killed My Best Friend, Amanda Michalopoulou
  5. Hungary – War and War, László Krasznakhorkai
  6. Italy – Morning Sea, Margaret Mazzantini
  7. Norway – Hunger, Knut Hamsun
  8. Russia – The Light and the Dark, Mikhail Shishkin
  9. Sweden – Wolf Winter, Cecilia Eckbåck

Oceania:

  1. Australia – Breath, Tim Winton
  2. Kiribati – The Sex Lives of Cannibals, J. Maarten Troost
  3. New Zealand – The Luminaries, Eleanor Catten

I’ll be posting my reviews for each book when I finish them, check back here for the links.

6 thoughts on “Booktrotting: The List

  1. Kudos to you for embarking on this and for recognising the limitations on yiur reading in past years. I had the same epiphany a few years ago and started a World in Literature project. Where my approach differs is that I am choosing books written by indigenous authors rather than books set in a country. I have a link on my site with what I’ve written and there ar guest blogs from bloggers around the world that might give you some new ideas. It’s challenging to find some counties whose authors have works in English however. I wish you good luck and will keep an eye on your progress.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! My original plan was to read, if not solely then at least mostly, indigenous authors. But like you said, it’s hard to find English translations for a lot of them, and often when you can they’re rather expensive discontinued runs. Nevertheless, this first Booktrotting trip is still rather broad in scope, and I plan to do many more focalised ones in future, so my reading can only expand from that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

